Wildcats Earn Fifth Straight AVCA Team Academic Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. – K-State volleyball’s success during the 2014 campaign went beyond the court as the team was recognized for the fifth-straight season with the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Team Academic Award for the 2014-15 academic year.

The award, which was initiated in 1992-93, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative GPA on a 5.0 scale.

This year’s accolade is the 12th for K-State in 14 years under the direction of head coach Suzie Fritz and 13th total in program history.

The Wildcats, who registered their most wins in a season since 2011 (22) and reached the NCAA Tournament for the 15th time in school history in 2014, also had six student-athletes earn Academic All-Big 12 honors. In addition, 12 Wildcats were named to the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll in the spring of 2015, highlighted by Kersten Kober and Gina Madonia who both earned 4.0 GPAs for the semester. Kober, meanwhile, has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout her entire K-State career.

Of the record-breaking 752 teams honored for this year’s award, 146 stem from NCAA Division I women’s volleyball. K-State is one of three Big 12 Conference teams selected, joined by Baylor and Texas Tech.

K-State is a month away from opening its 2015 schedule as the Wildcats will take on Florida A&M on August 28 as part of the two-day Hurricane Invitational hosted by Miami. The Wildcats will host their own tournament, the Varney’s Invitational, from September 4-5.

Season tickets for the 11-match home schedule are available now and start at less than $3 per match. Fans can purchase season tickets by visiting www.k-statesports.com/tickets, calling 1-800-221-CATS (2287), or stopping by the K-State Athletics Ticket Office in Bramlage Coliseum.

For a complete list of this year's recipients, click here

AVCA Academic Team Awards in K-State Program History