Wildcats Nab Multiple USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

MANHATTAN, Kan. – K-State Track and Field was honored by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), with 10 Wildcats earning individual All-Academic honors and the women’s team as a whole being named All-Academic.

For the women, they saw seven student-athletes earn All-Academic honors. Tallying a 3.40 GPA as a whole, the women had the fourth-highest GPA in the conference trailing only West Virginia (3.46), Oklahoma State (3.47) and Iowa State (3.52). Leading the individual nominees for K-State was Sarah Kolmer, studying Pre-Med, who earned the honor for a fourth-straight season. Tia’ Gamble (Economics) and Dani Winters (Communication Studies), meanwhile, were named for a third-consecutive time and Erica Twiss (Elementary Education) for the second year running. Rounding out the group were first time honorees in Haley Pitko (Pre-Physical Therapy), Morgan Wedekind (Communication Sciences Disorders) and Kim Williamson (Sociology - Criminology) – Wedekind was also named to the cross country All-Academic team this past February.

On the men’s side, three individuals nabbed the honors with Miles Bearden (Agricultural Business) in particular making the grade for a second-straight season. Thilina Karunaratne (Business Administration) and Carlos Rodriguez (Counseling & Student Development) were both first time honorees.

In all, the USTFCCCA honored a total of 838 student-athletes on the women’s side and 529 student-athletes for the men.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, a student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top-96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top-48 in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).