• Loading KStateSports Tweets...
    1 second ago
MAIN ROSTER | SCHEDULE | STATS | BRAMLAGE COLISEUM | CAMPS | IN THE PROS | HISTORY | MEDIA GUIDE | ARCHIVE | BASKETBALL GEAR
Time Changes for Diamond Head Classic


GO WILDCATS
Head coach Frank Martin will lead his Wildcats into Hawaii on Dec. 22-25.

GO WILDCATS
Head coach Frank Martin will lead his Wildcats into Hawaii on Dec. 22-25.
GO WILDCATS

Dec. 13, 2011

Updated Bracket (EST) Get Acrobat Reader
Updated Bracket (HST) Get Acrobat Reader

MANHATTAN, Kan. –The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic has altered game times for Kansas State’s first two contests of the tournament, which is set for Dec. 22-25 at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

The Wildcats will take on Southern Illinois (1-5) in the first round of the Classic at 3:30 p.m. CST (11:30 a.m. HST) on Thursday, Dec. 22 on ESPNU.  The winner would advance to face either Clemson (4-4) or Texas-El Paso (2-4) at 4 p.m. CST (noon HST) on Friday, Dec. 23 on ESPNU, while the two remaining teams will play at 2 p.m. CST (10 a.m. HST), also on ESPNU. 

In the opposite bracket, reigning Big West champion Long Beach State (4-5) will play No. 8 Xavier (8-0) at 10 p.m. CST (6 p.m. HST) on ESPNU in the third game before the final first-round match-up on Thursday between SEC foe Auburn (4-1) and host Hawaii (3-4) at midnight CST (8 p.m. HST) on ESPNU.

The winner of each bracket will face off in the championship game on Sunday, Dec. 25 at 8:30 p.m. CST (4:30 p.m. HST) on ESPN2.  There will be three consolation games that will precede the title contest at 1 p.m. CST (9 a.m. HST; seventh-place game), 3:30 p.m. CST (11:30 a.m. HST; fifth-place game, ESPNU) and 6:30 p.m. CST (2:30 p.m. HST; third-place game, ESPN2), respectively.

The three-day, three-game tournament includes six postseason participants from a year ago, including Clemson (NCAA Tournament), Hawai’i (CIT), Long Beach State (NIT), Texas-El Paso (NIT) and Xavier (NCAA). 

This will mark the Wildcats’ fourth in-season trip to Hawaii, which includes participation in the 1985 and 1998 Maui Invitationals and a 1993 trip to the University of Hawaii.  The team is 3-3 all-time on the island.  

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc., (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.  ESPN Regional Television markets and/or owns several college basketball events, including the 76 Classic, Charleston Classic, DIRECTV SEC/BIG EAST Invitational, Puerto Rico Tip-Off, Lane Furniture All-College Basketball Classic and BracketBusters.